Polar Vortex

prevailing winds / someone at the front door / selling echoes


My grandmother, in her youth, taught in a one-room schoolhouse in rural Canada. I have heard no testimony to her teaching style but I suspect it of being badass. I inherited her unnaturally strong teeth and her sense of superiority. Her first husband died of polio and her second husband was my grandfather, meaning that I owe my life to polio. When the second husband died she dug furiously in her garden all the following spring, planting with a vengeance, mad as hell about the whole thing, probably thinking, I have no problem keeping things alive, God, what’s your damn problem?

prevailing winds
someone at the front door
selling echoes

.

Haibun Today 8.3, December 2014

8 thoughts on “Polar Vortex

  1. Bella la tua testimonianza sulla tua nonna, doveva essere una persona tosta. Io però sono dell’idea che i ricordi fanno parte della nostra vita, ci accompagnano e alle volte ci fanno compagnia. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

